SIR Sections

Resident, Fellow and Student Section


The purpose of the RFS Section is to promote the clinical paradigm of interventional radiology practice at the resident, fellow, and medical student level by introducing the specialty to trainees passionate about the ideas that embody the future of IR, by stressing the necessity of becoming disease experts, and above all else, by focusing on patient centered care.

In addition to the general mission and vision of the Society as set forth in the Bylaws, the objectives of this section shall be:

  • We are the voice for residents, fellows and medical students in pursuit of their training as clinicians and Interventional Radiologists
  • We will work to further promote the clinical model of Interventional Radiology practice, as residents, fellows, and medical students by stressing service to the patient first and foremost.
  • We will continually expand our knowledge base to become true disease experts, with fundamental understandings of the epidemiology, pathophysiology, natural history, and evidence based medicine of the diseases that we treat. This will ultimately serve our patients well as we deliver longitudinal care.
  • We will embrace the IR residency and continue to advocate the development of resident, fellow and medical student-driven clinics.
  • As the future of the Society, we will work to recruit the best and the brightest like-minded physicians and students into the specialty and the Society to help further propel Interventional Radiology to the forefront of clinical medicine and patient care.

2023-2024 RFS Governing Council

  • Avik Som, MD, PhD, RFS Chair
  • Jung Hyun Yun, MD, RFS Chair-Elect, Annual Meeting Co-Chair
  • Linzi Webster, MD, Annual Meeting Co-Chair
  • Izzet Altun, MD, Clinical Education Co-Chair
  • Tricia Townsend, MD, Clinical Education Co-Chair
  • Brian Covello, MD, Communications Co-Chair
  • Gaurav Parmar, MD, Communications Co-Chair
  • Keith Ameyaw, MD, Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Chair
  • Tarig Elhakim, MD, International Outreach Co-Chair
  • Apurva Challa, MD, International Outreach Co-Chair
  • Lap-Heng Keung, MD, MS, Membership Co-Chair
  • Hasan Khan, MD, Membership Co-Chair
  • Madeline Leo, MD, Women in IR Chair
  • Amir Olfat, MD, IR Residency Training Chair
  • David Mittelstein, MD, Recruitment Co-Chair
  • Ansh Johri, MD, Recruitment Co-Chair
  • Tushar Garg, MD, Research and Innovation Co-Chair
  • Shakti Ramasamy, MD, Research and Innovation Co-Chair
  • Samantha Chau, MD, MS, Webmaster
  • Robert (Robbie) Weinstein, Medical Student Council Chair


2020-2021 Medical Student Council

  • Deepak Iyer, Chair
  • Anna Gong, Patient & Family Centered Care Chair
  • Subhash Gutti, Public Relations & Communications Chair
  • Robert Seby, Diversity & Inclusion Chair
  • Waseem Wahood, IR Interest Groups Chair
  • Ryan Morrison, Biodesign & Innovation Chair
  • Brendan Ryu, Research Chair
  • Talia Fradkin - MSC Reserves Co-Chair
  • Damian Slifer - MSC Reserves Co-Chair
  • Varun Danda, MD - Resident Chair
  • Shin Mei Chan, Women in IR
  • Robert Weinstein, Education

Join the Discussion

The RFS community is a closed community exclusively for SIR medical student, resident and fellow members.  



  • RFS Website- Visit the RFS website to learn more about the RFS section and their activities.  The site also includes numerous educational and professional networking resources
  • RFS on Twitter
  • RFS on Youtube