SIR 2021 Medical Student Scholar Program

Take a deep dive into interventional radiology by attending the SIR 2021 Annual Scientific Meeting as a Medical Student Scholar  

SIR 2021 Medical Student Scholar Program information

Due to SIR 2021 being virtual, SIR will sponsor a Medical Student Scholar Program in lieu of a Medical Student Travel Scholarship.

The SIR 2021 Medical Student Scholar Program provides medical students with the opportunity to learn about IR at an early stage in their medical careers.

Scholar program benefits:

  • Free registration to SIR 2021
  • Special recognition during the meeting
  • Dedicated medical student programming on Saturday, March 20
  • Special scholar-only programming on Sunday, March 21

Application criteria:

  • Applicants must be medical students within the U.S. or Canada.  
  • Applicants must be an SIR Medical Student Member.
  • Prior SIR Medical Student Travel Scholarship recipients are not eligible to apply.
<p>No other meeting offers the diversity of topics, the range of learning environments, the unparalleled access to expert faculty and leading thinkers in the specialty.</p>

No other meeting offers the diversity of topics, the range of learning environments, the unparalleled access to expert faculty and leading thinkers in the specialty.


Congratulations to the SIR 2021 Medical Student Scholars:

  • Christina Agudelo, SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University, Brooklyn, N.Y.
  • Omar Ahmed, University of Maryland School of Medicine, Baltimore
  • Timothy Louis Arleo, Emory University School of Medicine, Atlanta
  • Kyrollos E Barsoum, Rutgers New Jersey Medical School, Newark
  • Zak Boggs, MS, MSc, The Ohio State University College of Medicine, Columbus
  • Alexa Bolock, Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine, Scranton, Pa.
  • Alexander Boyarko, University of Cincinnati College of Medicine
  • Sayeh Bozorghadad, Penn State University College of Medicine, Hershey
  • Andres Angel-Gonzalez Calvillo, University of California, San Francisco
  • Shin Mei Chan, Yale School of Medicine, New Haven, Conn.
  • Tonuka Chatterjee, Meharry Medical College, Nashville, Tenn.
  • Seulah Rebecca Choi, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, New York
  • Michelle Clark, Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, New Brunswick, N.J.
  • Caroline Corban, University of Massachusetts Medical School, Worcester
  • Matthew Alexander Crain, West Virginia University School of Medicine, Morgantown
  • Michael Dubner, SUNY Downstate College of Medicine, Brooklyn, N.Y.
  • Adam George Dykie, Drexel University College of Medicine, Philadelphia
  • Daniel Giraldo Herrera, University of Virginia School of Medicine, Charlotte
  • Brandon Golant, Chicago Medical School, Rosalind Franklin University
  • Adlai Grayson, Howard University College of Medicine, Washington
  • Hasan Habib, Rowan School of Osteopathic Medicine, Stratford, N.J.
  • Ashiya Hamirani, Penn State College of Medicine, Hershey                             
  • Justin Hendrix, Indiana University School of Medicine, Indianapolis
  • Matthew Henry, Wayne State University School of Medicine, Detroit
  • Diego Hipolito Canario, University of North Caroline School of Medicine, Chapel Hill
  • Joshua Hirsh, Paul L. Foster School of Medicine, TTUHSC El Paso, Texas
  • Ran Jing, University of Nebraska College of Medicine, Omaha
  • Shivam Kaushik, Rowan University School of Osteopathic Medicine, Stratford, N.J
  • Adam Khayat, NYU Long Island School of Medicine
  • Andrew Ko, University of Hawaii School of Medicine, Honolulu                             
  • Paul Li, University of Alberta, Canada
  • Jenny Liu, Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond
  • Rohil Malpani, Yale School of Medicine, New Haven, Conn.
  • Regan C Manayan, Tufts University School of Medicine, Boston
  • Anoop Manjunath, Stanford Medical School, Calif.
  • Sean J Matuszak, Donald and Barbara Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell, Hempstead, N.Y.
  • Katherine McNamara, PhD, MPhil, Stanford, Calif.
  • Mostafa Meleis, St. George's University, True Blue, Grenada
  • Stephanie S Miljkovic, MS, Creighton University School of Medicine - Phoenix Regional Campus
  • Mohammed Hashim Mirza, University of Illinois College of Medicine at Peoria Program       
  • Neha Mylarpu, Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine                             
  • Andrew Trung Nguyen, Touro University- California, Vallejo
  • Vaidehi Patel, University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
  • Akshita Sangeetha Pillai, University of Texas Medical Brach (UTMB), Galveston
  • Ishmael Raheem, Wake Forest School of Medicine, Winston-Salem, N.C.
  • Alex Raman, Western University of Health Sciences, Pomona
  • Animan Randhawa, Tufts University School of Medicine, Boston
  • Michael Jovan Repajic, Keck School of Medicine of University of Southern California, Los Angeles
  • Helena Danielle Rockwell, University of California, San Diego
  • Sabin Ratna Shakya, Medical College of Georgia, Augusta
  • Clara Sun, Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine, Cleveland
  • Max Hoang Tran, Alabama College of Osteopathic Medicine, Dothan
  • Ravi Tyagi, University of Illinois at Chicago College of Medicine
  • Monica Vergara, MS, Tulane University School of Medicine, New Orleans
  • Daniel Veyg, NYIT College of Osteopathic Medicine, Old Westbury, N.Y.
  • Harjot Virk, UC Davis School of Medicine, Sacramento, Calif.
  • Sriharsha Voleti, Northeast Ohio Medical University, Rootstown
  • Carter McWane Ware, Loma Linda University School of Medicine, Calif.
  • Krichelle White, University of Arizona College Medicine, Phoenix
  • Ashley K Yearwood, St. George’s University, True Blue, Grenada




The following required application materials will be submitted within the online application:

  • Current CV
  • Answers to each of the following three short essay questions:
    1. In 250 words or less, please describe what role does interventional radiology play in making contributions to diversity, equity, and inclusion. 
    2. In 250 words or less, please describe how you were exposed to the field of interventional radiology (or what about IR interests you most). 
    3. In 250 words or less, please describe what you hope to gain by attending the SIR Annual Scientific Meeting.
  • An optional letter of recommendation from an attending physician (the attending physician does not have to be an interventional radiologist). 
      • ​After you submit your online scholar program application, SIR will send you a link where an attending physician can submit an optional letter of recommendation on your behalf. 

***If you intend to submit an optional letter of recommendation, it is also due by Sun., Feb. 7, midnight ET. Please submit your application in advance of the submission due date to ensure your attending has enough time to submit your letter.


Questions about applying? Contact Jennifer Goubeaux, SIR graduate medical affairs program manager, or phone (703) 691-1805.