SIR Executive Council

SIR Executive Council purpose

The SIR Executive Council is the chief governing and policymaking body of SIR made up of SIR’s member interventional radiologists. The executive council is empowered to carry out the business of the society and is responsible for fiduciary oversight. It is responsible for overseeing and transacting the business necessary to achieve SIR's goals and to fulfill its mission. Council terms begin at the annual members' business meeting. The council meets in person three times per year.

The officers of the society shall be the president, president-elect, secretary, and treasurer. The president, president-elect and secretary of SIR are the voting members of the operations committee of the executive council. The immediate past president, treasurer, SIR Foundation chair and a rotating executive council member are nonvoting invited guests of the operations committee, along with the SIR Executive Director. Between meetings of the executive council, the operations committee has all the powers and responsibilities of the executive council and may conduct any business matter that requires attention.

2021-2022 SIR Executive Council Roster

Matthew S. Johnson, MD, FSIR


Parag J. Patel, MD, FSIR


Alda L. Tam, MD, FSIR


Filip Banovac, MD, FSIR


Michael D. Dake, MD, FSIR

Immediate Past President

Kathy L. Krol, MD, FSIR

SIR Foundation Chair

Nadine Abi-Jaoudeh, MD, FSIR

Annual Scientific Meeting Councilor

Raymond W. Liu, MD, FSIR

Health Policy & Economics Division Councilor

Kelvin Hong, MD, FSIR

Post-graduate Medical Education Division Councilor

Saher S. Sabri, MD, FSIR

Graduate Medical Education Councilor

Raj Pyne, MD, FSIR

Member Services Division Councilor

Mark Baerlocher, MD

Standards Division Councilor

Constantinos T. Sofocleous, MD, FSIR

International Division Councilor

Derek Mittleider, MD, FSIR


Robert J. Lewandowski, MD, FSIR


Akhilesh K. Sista, MD, FSIR


Mary Costantino, MD, FSIR

Private Practice Councilor

Meridith J. Englander, MD, FSIR

AMA Delegate, ex-officio

Daniel Sze, MD, PhD, FSIR

JVIR  Editor-in-Chief

Rajesh Shah, MD, FSIR

Ad-Hoc Quality and Performance Improvement Division Councilor

Keith M. Hume

SIR Executive Director, ex-officio

Nominations process

The duty of the SIR Nominating Committee is to seek out and select the best candidates for the open positions on the SIR Executive Council and to work with interested individuals to develop their future leadership opportunities and skills. Each year the nominating committee carefully evaluates the nominations in the context of the current and future leadership needs of the society. SIR's needs change from year to year, and there are many qualified candidates who apply. For this reason, individuals may be nominated several times before they are selected as a candidate.

Learn More

Executive Council roles and terms

EC Terms_2021.JPG

To accomplish a smooth transition in the management of the society from year to year, the secretary shall become the president-elect, the president-elect shall become president, and the president shall become the immediate past president.

  • President (one-year term)
  • President-elect (one-year term)
  • Immediate Past President (one-year term)

Elected Positions

  • Secretary (one-year term)
  • Councilor, Graduate Medical Education Division (four-year term)
  • Councilor, Post Graduate Education Division (four-year term)
  • Councilor, Health Policy and Economics Division (four-year term)
  • Councilor, Member Services Division (four-year term)
  • Councilor, Standards Division (four-year term)
  • Councilor-at-large (four-year term)
  • Councilor-at-large (four-year term)
  • Councilor-at-large (four-year term)
  • Private Practice Councilor (four-year term)

Appointed Positions

  • Councilor, Annual Meeting Division (one-year term)
  • Treasurer (three-year term)

Standing SIR Foundation Board Position on the SIR Executive Council

  • Chair, SIR Foundation (two-year term)

Ex-officio Positions

  • Editor, Journal of Vascular and Interventional Radiology (JVIR), ex-officio (five-year term)
  • AMA Delegate, ex-officio (term consistent with time in position)

Ad Hoc Positions
Upon the request of the president-elect, the Executive Council may appoint additional non-voting members of the Executive Council to serve for a term of no more than one year.