SIR Board of Directors

SIR Board of Directors purpose

The SIR Board of Directors is the chief governing and policymaking body of SIR made up of SIR’s member interventional radiologists. The board of directors is empowered to carry out the business of the society and is responsible for fiduciary oversight. It is responsible for overseeing and transacting the business necessary to achieve SIR's goals and to fulfill its mission. Board terms begin at the annual members' business meeting. The council meets in person three times per year.

The officers of the society shall be the president, president-elect, secretary, and treasurer. The president, president-elect and secretary of SIR are the voting members of the executive committee of the board of directors. The immediate past president, treasurer, SIR Foundation chair and a rotating board of directors member are nonvoting invited guests of the executive committee, along with the SIR Executive Director. Between meetings of the board of directors, the exeutive committee has all the powers and responsibilities of the board of directors and may conduct any business matter that requires attention.

2023–2024 SIR Board of Directors roster

Alda L. Tam, MD, MBA, FSIR


Robert J. Lewandowski, MD, FSIR


Robert A. Lookstein, MD, FSIR


Raymond W. Liu, MD, FSIR


Parag J. Patel, MD, FSIR

Immediate Past President

Maureen P. Kohi, MD, FSIR

SIR Foundation Chair

Derek Mittleider, MD, FSIR

Private Practice Director

Nishita Kothary, MD, FSIR

Director at Large

Akhilesh Sista, MD, FSIR

Director at Large

J. David Prologo, MD, FSIR

Director at Large

Meridith J. Englander, MD, FSIR

AMA Delegate

Daniel Sze, MD, PhD, FSIR

JVIR Editor-in-Chief

Keith M. Hume

SIR Executive Director 

Nominations process

The duty of the SIR Nominating Committee is to seek out and select the best candidates for the open positions on the SIR Executive Council and to work with interested individuals to develop their future leadership opportunities and skills. Each year the nominating committee carefully evaluates the nominations in the context of the current and future leadership needs of the society. SIR's needs change from year to year, and there are many qualified candidates who apply. For this reason, individuals may be nominated several times before they are selected as a candidate.

Learn More

SIR Board of Directors roles and terms

To accomplish a smooth transition in the management of the society from year to year, the secretary shall become the president-elect, the president-elect shall become president, and the president shall become the immediate past president.

  • President (one-year term)
  • President-elect (one-year term)
  • Immediate Past President (one-year term)

Elected positions

  • Secretary (one-year term)
  • Private Practice Director-at-large (four-year term)

Appointed positions

  • Treasurer (three-year term)

Standing SIR Foundation Board position on the SIR Board of Directors

  • Chair, SIR Foundation (two-year term)

Ex-officio positions

  • Editor, Journal of Vascular and Interventional Radiology (JVIR), ex-officio (five-year term)
  • AMA Delegate, ex-officio (term consistent with time in position)

Ad hoc positions
Upon the request of the president-elect, the Board of Directors may appoint additional non-voting members of the Board of Directors to serve for a term of no more than one year.