Visiting Observership Opportunities for International IRs

U.S.-based

California

University of California, Irvine School of Medicine
Location: Orange, California
Contact: Laura Findeiss, M.D., FSIR, [via Elise Smith, (714) 456-5249]

 

University of California, San Diego
Location: San Diego, California
Note: Offers observerships only, does not have funds to support visits, physician must demonstrate evidence of sufficient funding to underwrite the trip
Contact: Anne Roberts, M.D., FSIR, acroberts@ucsd.edu

 

Florida

Miami Cardiac and Vascular Institute
Location: Miami, Florida
Contact: James Benenati, M.D., FSIR, jamesb@baptisthealth.net

 

Georgia

Emory University/Grady Memorial Hospital
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Contact: Curtis Lewis, M.D., FSIR, MBA, JD (via Dana Ballacchino, dballacchino@gmh.edu)

 

Piedmont Radiology
Location: Piedmont Hospital, Atlanta, Georgia
Contact: Aravind Arepally, M.D., FSIR, section director, (404) 352-1409

 

Maryland

University of Maryland Medical Center, Division of Vascular and Interventional Radiology
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Contact: Ziv J Haskal, M.D., FSIR (via ledmonds@umm.edu or zhaskal@umm.edu)

 

Missouri

Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contacts: Michael Darcy, M.D., FSIR, darcym@mir.wustl.edu; Darryl Zuckerman, M.D., FSIR, zuckermand@mir.wustl.edu

 

New York

Rochester General Hospital
Location: Rochester, New York
Contact: Atul Gupta, M.D.
Note: Visiting faculty observership only, no fellowships

 

Ohio

Cleveland Clinic
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Contact: Weiping, Wang, M.D., FSIR, Tel: 216-444-5163, e-mail: wangw2@ccf.org

 

Wexner Medical Center at The Ohio State University
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Contact: James W. Spain, MD, Office: 614-685-9037, Fax: 614-293-6935

 

Oregon

Dotter Interventional Institute, Oregon Health and Science University Hospital
Location: Portland, Oregon
Contact: John Kaufman, M.D., FSIR (via Dixie McWilliams, mcwillid@ohsu.edu)

 

Rhode Island

Roger Williams Medical Center
Location: Providence, Rhode Island
Contact: Brian Stainken, M.D., FSIR (via Cindy Smith, csmith@rwmc.org)

 

Texas

MD Anderson Cancer Center
Location: Houston, Texas
Contact: Marshall Hicks, M.D., FSIR, mhicks@mdanderson.org

Note: MD Anderson offers observerships of varying lengths; MD Anderson also offers a one-year non-ACGME accredited fellowship position: this is designed for individuals who want one of three things:
  • a second year of fellowship that allows a flexible amount of research time in addition to clinical time or
  • a second year of clinical fellowship dedicated to oncology interventions or
  • foreign graduates who plan on returning to their home country but would like to gain additional experience in interventional oncology

International-based

Israel

Hadassah University Medical Center
Location: Jerusalem, Israel
Contact: Allan I. Bloom, M.D.,FSIR, Allan@hadassah.org.il; phone: 972 2 6776502

  • participate in a general IR service in a university tertiary care center (including level 1 trauma)
  • opportunity for peripheral vascular interventions, including below-knee revascularization
  • opportunity to be involved with clinical and basic science research